Sept. 26 local digest

VCSU Hall of Fame Banquet Friday
Tickets are on sale for the Valley City State University Hall of Fame banquet, which is being held Friday as part of the school's homecoming festivities.
The banquet is being held at the VCSU student center starting at 5 p.m. with a social hour. The banquet starts at 6 p.m.
Tickets are $20 and can be purchased from the athletic office. For more information call 845-7161 and ask for Deb.
The inductees to the VCSU Hall of Fame this year include golfer Terry Anderson (1971-1973), football players Trevor Bakalar (1995-1997), Mikah Boudreaux (1994-1996), Sarge Truesdall (1996-1998) and wrestler Kirk Zink (1994-1996). The 1970-1972 mens golf teams and 1996 football team will also be honored.

VCHS Hall of Fame Class Announced
Valley City High School will recognize the newest inductees into the Hi-Liner HAll of Fame on Friday.
The inductees will be recognized during both the homecoming parade and Friday night's homecoming game.
The inductees include the state champion 1971 girls golf team, which consisted of Ann Ertelt, Paulette Anderson, Connie Huber, Pandy Kupitz, and Sandy Schindler.
Individual inductees include golfer/track runner Ann (Ertelt) Scott, runner/volleyball player Danni (Dew) Rowekamp, football/basketball/golfer Michael Fitzner, football/basketball player Travis Bjerke.
Andrew Zaun, a football star and javelin thrower, Natalie (Birchem) Portratz, a basketball player and gymnast, and basketball/volleyball/track athlete Tricia Schilling round out the 2012 class.

Ladies golf final results
The Valley City Ladies Golf Association held its awards banquet Sept. 19 at the Town and Country Club.
The two major awards were "Most Improved" and " Ringer". The Ringer award is for improvement on each hole through the season. Liz Marthaler had the greatest total improvement and recorded an improved score on every hole.  Vi Egan was 2nd and also improved on every hole. 
For Most Improved the first 4 scores are averaged and the last four scores are averaged and then compared. Winners, with a tie score, were Liz Marthaler and Vi Egan.
Rookie of the year went to JoAnn Hooper. Lowest score for the year was a 46 recorded by Lori Justessen. Least putts was 12 scored by Rose Wendt and Jan Olafson.  Nancy King had the most chip-ins.
Perfect attendance with a score on each of the 16 Ladies days was Arlys Netland.  Sonny Spitzer and Liz Marthaler had the greatest difference from their highest to lowest games.  Low net was a tie between Jan Olafson and Connie Maresh.  Most of the same putts  went to Sonny Spitzer, Judy Mathias, Ruth Nathan and  Arlys Netland.  Those with the same score on the first and last Ladies day were Vickie Ross,Mary Tangen, and Ruth Nathan.  Sheryl Hanson had the same average for her first 4 scores as for her last 4 games.
Two new Board members were elected, Rose Wendt and Connie Maresh.