5 run for 2 seats on VC commission

Five people have signed up for two open nonpartisan Valley City City Commission seats in the June 12 Primary Election, including former Mayor Mary Lee Nielson and former Commissioner Ken Evenson.

Nielson was defeated for another term as mayor by Werkhoven in the 2010 election, and Evenson lost to Dewey Magnuson in a Jan. 24 recall election.

Also running for the city commission are Robert Drake, Arthur Frieze and Dr. Madeline Luke.

Current Mayor Bob Werkhoven said Tuesday incumbent commissioners Jon Wagar and George Dutton have decided against running for another term in office.

Both Wagar and Dutton were on the original recall proposal, but both commissioners were ruled out for recalls because their regular terms expired too soon after Jan. 24.

Dutton said Tuesday, “I’m officially not a candidate. Basically, I feel good about the slate that is available. We have some real good choices.”
Dutton said when he leaves office, “I will have served a total of 10 years – four years in the 1990s, got off for awhile, and back in 2006.”

Wagar said Tuesday he had made his decision not to seek another term in office four years ago - “Eight years is long enough. I never wanted to run for a third term. I think eight years are plenty. I’ve enjoyed 98 percent of the time I’ve served.”

Wagar also said city residents have a good slate of candidates to choose from.

In an email sent late Monday, North Dakota Secretary of State Al Jaeger said, “The filing deadline for candidates was 4 p.m. on Friday, April 13. Based on filings with this office and county auditor offices throughout the state, the SOS Election team worked late into the evening on Friday. During the day, there were a few more names added that had been filed prior to the deadline, but not reported to us.”

According to Jaeger, only names of candidates on the list as of the end of the day Friday will appear on ballots.